News and announcements from the Stempra Committee.

Passing of Stempra’s Chair Rob Dawson

The Stempra committee is deeply saddened by the news of the death of our Chair, Rob Dawson, late last week. Rob was a dedicated and enthusiastic Chair who had led Stempra for the last three years and was always a pleasure to work with. He was an active member of the science press officer and


Stempra joins forces with ABSW for sci comm award

Stempra has joined forces with ABSW (Association of British Science Writers) for the Dr Katharine Giles Award for the best popular article written by a scientist or engineer. The Dr Katharine Giles Award for the best popular article written by a scientist or engineer is an annual award, named in honour of a climate scientist


AGM Update for STEMPRA members

To all members; Following recent government guidance the STEMPRA committee has decided to host this year’s AGM on March 23 at 7:00pm as an online only event rather than having a physical meeting. Our chair Rob will be sending an email round with details for joining the online meeting and how we will be conducting the elections


Stempra AGM Minutes 2018

Date and Time: 7pm Monday 26 March 2018 Venue: The Castle Farringdon, 34-35 Cowcross St, London, EC1M 6DB Attendees: Rachel Argo Daisy Barton Seil Collins Daniel Gooch Claire Hastings Emily Head Hayley Jarvis Erin Johnson Alice Kay Jo Kelly Fareha Lasker Fiona Lethbridge Simon Levey Sophia McCully Natasha Neill Shamim Quadir Freya Robb Joseph Shuttleworth


AGM minutes – 28 March 2017

Agenda  1. Approve minutes from 2016 AGM Minutes were approved by the general aye. 2. Update from Chair HD said that Stempra delivered a fantastic programme of events, including the excellent press officers training day. Feedback received to date has been very positive. The Stempra guide to being a media officer was also successfully updated,


The Dianne Stilwell Bursary

As a founding member of Stempra, Dianne Stilwell was an integral part of the network that we are today and was previously awarded honorary life membership for her contributions. Since her passing last year, we have been flooded with wonderful, warm stories of her from the membership, with many of those highlighting her commitment to


© Copyright Stempra